It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Quick search

Where would you like to go?
What type of travel do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
574 Matching trips
Site Search

Request Brochure

Get your free copy and choose from hundreds of trips in over 100 countries.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new adventures, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

.

 

The Best of Western Cuba CN

Visiting: Cuba
Tour Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for The Best of Western Cuba

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the The Best of Western Cuba tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

The Best of Western Cuba reviews verified by Reevoo

61 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
The Best of Western CubaScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 61 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Maria

Hong Kong
I quite liked the accommodations in Trinidad. Emiliana and Martin's casa particular was very clean and fresh-smelling. Our room was cleaned everyday and our towels were always new. The breakfast was excellent. And, the family was very warm, welcoming and helpful. I rate them a 10+.

On the other hand, Hotel Sevilla in Havana is in dire need of renovation. The WC overflowed. However, I must stress that the staff was very efficient in responding and cleaning up at 11 in the evening!

Kudos and many thanks to our Explore Leader Rene for the excellent itinerary, his attention to detail, and the history lessons! Many thanks as well to Joel for his warmth and excellent driving skills. These two gentlemen did a great job! I had a great time. Much, much appreciated.
Confirmed traveller: 17 April 2016
Published on: 26 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Helen

Stockton on tees
Great holiday - only problem was taxi that Explore booked to transfer us to Airport refused to take the 3 of us ( family) said we should of been split and one travel in another car. Stand off ensued. The other taxi had left and he refused to transfer us to airport unless one person got out ! Hotel staff were not helpful. When I offered a 20 cuc note he agreed to take us. Rip off capitalism arrives in Cuba.
Confirmed traveller: 18 April 2016
Published on: 21 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Janet

Margate
The trip was well organised , the guide was great , very knowledgable and friendly . A good balance between organised and free time .

The only thing that was slightly disappointing about the tour was the stay n the Casa . The accommodation was fine but the hosts didn't engage with us much at all. Aldo , the father was great , very friendly and welcoming but we only saw him once during our stay . The rest of the family were definitely not as welcoming and only saw them when they served breakfast and there was no conversation .
Confirmed traveller: 18 April 2016
Published on: 21 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Janet

york
This is an excellent trip for a first visit to Cuba. Visiting two major distinctly different cities and also visiting the tobacco and sugar cane areas in the country was very interesting.

The highlight of Cuba was a trip round Havana in 1958 Open top Ford one evening also watching the Salsa in the square in Trinidad.
Confirmed traveller: 04 April 2016
Published on: 16 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Emma

We had Renee as our tour leader. He was amazing. He took good care of everyone in the group and had so much knowledge.
Loved Cuba such a beautiful and complex country. Had a great time throughout.
Confirmed traveller: 20 March 2016
Published on: 15 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This was the trip that for me began with a handshake. Not just an ordinary handshake, mind you, but between Barack Obama and Raul Castro, the presidents of the USA and Cuba, at Nelson Mandela's memorial. And with that handshake the writing was on the wall for the American blockade which has been in place since the early 1960s. And with that handshake tourism to Cuba has apparently increased by 17% in 2015. Change isn't coming, it's happening already and visitors to Cuba are a part of it.
Confirmed traveller: 12 November 2015
Published on: 14 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Peter

Birmingham
An excellent introduction to Cuba. Trinidad is without doubt the highlight, but Havana and Viñales are also great places to visit.
Confirmed traveller: 28 March 2016
Published on: 12 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Philippa

Auckland New Zealand
so many highlights the tour was really interesting... particularly the tours of Havana and Trinidad. I was not very impressed with the beaches however ... but possibly because I am spoiled by living in a country with excellent beaches with not too many people on them.
The House stay in Trinidad was a really good experience ... the family very friendly and helpful.
Confirmed traveller: 20 March 2016
Published on: 12 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Lorna

Ashford
Food much better than expected, with lots of fresh vegetables and fruit. Havana lively and backstreets fascinating
Casa particulier in Trinidad great fun with very welcoming hosts. Itinerary excellent and guide knew just when to get us to everywhere to ensure we had best tables etc. AirEuropa awful - to be avoided if at all possible. Do go to Cuba - but not via AirEuropa!
Confirmed traveller: 28 March 2016
Published on: 07 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Dianne

London
A great insight into Cuba, highlights being the walking around the old towns of Havana and Trinidad, the beach swimming and island snorkelling, the music and cocktails ( including our lessons in cocktail- making and salsa) and the last- day ride in a convoy of 50's convertibles. Accommodation at the Sevilla Hotel was dilapidated and dirty and the reception staff surly- a much warmer and cleaner welcome at out casa particulaire. Most of the food, unless you like shellfish was bland and disappointing and over- priced at some of the very touristy restaurants we were taken to. I would have preferred more options of where to eat. The tour felt rushed and I'd have appreciated an extra few days as our group was only just beginning to gell by the end of it. Our guide Thalia was excellent In terms of her caring nature and personality and her willingness to make extra efforts on our behalf. However I sometimes found her presentation of information disjointed and difficult to follow especially if not seated at the front of our coach.
Confirmed traveller: 04 April 2016
Published on: 06 April 2016