It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Quick search

Where would you like to go?
What type of travel do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
522 Matching trips
Site Search

Request Brochure

Get your free copy and choose from hundreds of trips in over 100 countries.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new adventures, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

.

 

Reviews for Village Folklore and Danube Delta 4.5 out of 5 based on 10 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Village Folklore and Danube Delta tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
5 James & Sarah Symonds, 04/07/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

This was our first time in Romania and the first time using Explore. We were one of 3 couples, together with 3 single travellers who were unknown to each other before the trip, all of which had a fantastic time. There was the right balance of city sightseeing with Christi, exploring on our own, visiting castles and monasteries, hiking and exploring the beautiful Danube Delta by boat. All the accommodation was clean and functional, with the highlight being the Casa Zada Guest House in Moieciu, delicious authentic Romanian home cooked food, with excellent home made wine. Also visiting the house in Sapanta for lunch under drying sweetcorn cobs, washed down with the local fiery plum spirit.

Read more
 
4.5 Shahida, 24/12/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The painted monastries, Open air Sunday Service at an monastary, too many to mention. Holiday exceeded all expectations.

Read more
 
5 Enter name, 26/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The Monasateries with the frescoes. Seeing 3 flocks of Pelican doing a (seemingly) private air-display right above our heads was awesome. The chilled boat ride was welcome after invigorating climb in the mountains with breathtaking views.

Read more
 
5 Frances, 26/09/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Difficult to say as there was so much variety in the tour. But if I had to make a choice then the following would stand out: The open air service at Borsana on a beautiful sunny morning, with the nuns singing in harmony, the locals in their national costumes, and the flowers in the monastery gardens. The Vasser Valley steam train ride when a bride in her white gown and her wedding party joined us on the train. The walk after the train ride although tough in places was also well worth the effort. And the trip ended with the unique experience of 2 days on a pontoon on the Danube Delta - an extremely enjoyable finish to the holiday.

Read more
 
5 , 15/08/13

Name

Christopher Sheehy

Tour Code

TD

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Watching a white tipped eagle swooping at and harrying a gull that had strayed too close. It was one of the first sights on the delta and promised much. That promise was fulfilled.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

A first class leader. Christi is knowledgeable and attentive to the needs of the group. It was a pleasure to have him in charge.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

You may find walking poles useful on parts of the treks.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Enjoy!

 
5 , 15/08/13

Name

Ann

Tour Name

Village Folklore & Danube delta

Tour Code

TD

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

I was inspired do this trip after reading 'Along the Enchanted Way'. We managed to see many different regions, so this trip was a taster, for future visits. It didn't disappoint. Our guide did an excellent job, highlighting all aspects of the country, truly knowledgable and enthusiastic. N

Tour Leader Name

Christi

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

One of the best...

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Do it ASAP.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Enjoy every moment.

 
5 Carol and Bob , 31/12/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Sheltering in an alpine wood hut sharing a laugh as red dye from a soaking wet hat ran down the neck of a fellow traveler. All this in Transylvania! Being invited to share a swig of Plum Brandy as the wedding party made their way to the local wooden church in Borsa The beautiful harmonies of the nuns singing in the open air service at Borsana.

 

Read more
 
5 Emma, 29/10/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The time spent in the Maramures was my favourite part of the tour.  The scenery was stunning and there's much more of a feel of stepping back in time.  Horse drawn carts, wooden house, fields of haystacks, etc..  Really enjoyed the walks here - particularly the first one.  The first part of that walk (day 5) is pretty tough, but it's worth it once you get to the top.  Other highlight was the 'surprise' visit (I'm not going to ruin it!) - which was really interesting, resulted in some great and much appreciated gifts and also the best homemade alcohol of the trip.

Read more
 
0.5 Ainslie Morris, 18/11/10

Gypsies. Communists. Why Romania, our friends asked. I can now re-assure them that the bad gypsies must have emigrated, along with the Communists of a past era. We were surprised and delighted to find Romania bursting with enterprise and relishing their two decades of freedom. Brasov with its outdoor cafes and concert in the handsome town square, the Bucovina region with our hikes from one painted monastery to the next, and birdwatching in the Danube Delta with our expert Explore leader, were highlights of a tour I would recommend to anyone who likes adventure-lite. We spent extra time in Bucharest, which was bustling in the warm evenings in the marvellous Old Town. (TD -9th September 2010)

 
0 HMS, 12/11/10
When I told friends and colleagues that I was going to Romania for a holiday, I was met with blank faces.   Why go there?  Some people asked out loud, almost everybody was thinking it.    My reason was a recommendation from another Explorer on a holiday some years ago.  Without his enthusiastic recommendation, it would never have occurred to me to go and I would have missed a wonderful trip.    The Village Folklore and Danube Delta trip has an exceptionally well thought out and varied itinerary.  You see the capital, with its pre-communist faded charm and soulless soviet relics.  You visit Dracula’s castle (or one of the alleged contenders) and admire or shudder at the wonderfully tacky tourist tat on sale outside.  You get to walk in the beautiful Carpathian mountains, which are home to a large population of bears, and you might as we did see very recent evidence of their proximity.  The painted monasteries have to be seen to be believed, you could take the entire holiday time just looking at the hundreds of biblical scenes, from the uplifting to the frankly gory.   The river boat trip on the Danube was heaven, the wildlife simply amazing.  I saw my first otter in the wild, as well as fantastic birdlife.    There is far too much on this holiday to mention everything.  However the merry cemetery is one highlight which is unlike anything else I have seen.  Instead of headstones, each grave in the merry cemetery has a painted wooden cross, with a picture of the deceased in a characteristic setting, and words from them to the visitor.  It is touching, comforting and entertaining.    Romania is changing fast.  Everywhere there are boards boasting of European Union funds financing projects and infrastructure.  In the rural areas, transport is still mostly by horse and cart, and many homes rely on village pumps for water.  Many rural people build their own homes, and they are lovingly decorated and maintained. I wanted to see Romania before it catches up too much with richer European economies.  All our group had a wonderful time, and I am truly grateful for the recommendation which inspired my visit.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. (TD -10th September 2009)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA