It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Quick search

Where would you like to go?
What type of travel do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
465 Matching trips
Site Search

Request Brochure

Get your free copy and choose from hundreds of trips in over 100 countries.

.

 

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new adventures, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

On Foot In Northern Cyprus LNC

Visiting: North Cyprus
Tour Duration 8 Days
  • Harbour town of Kyrenia
  • Walking in the Besparmak Mountains
  • Coastal views
  • Coastal views
  • Bellapais Monastery
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
  • Trek Grade: Easy to Moderate
 

Book now!

14 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the On Foot In Northern Cyprus tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
10 Kenneth Burrows, 11/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

We had varied walking, probably averaging around 10 km per day and it seemed to suit everybody in our group of mixed ages and backgrounds. Our hotel was comfortable and quite adequate with evening meals taken at a variety of local restaurants.

Read more
 
10 Karen Middlehurst, 11/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

I think the first thing that struck me was how loud the birds were on the first morning at Bellapais Monastery Village Hotel wonderful but no chance of a lay in! Loved the walks through the woods along tracks and paths and also the walks we did up to the castles Buffavento and Kantara were the views were amazing. Salamis roman ruins were well worth a visit. The last walk on the Saturday was said to be the toughest but I found this the most pleasant and interesting with lovely wild flowers, views and interesting footpaths following goat tracks up the side of the mountain. So many highlights it is almost impossible to name them. This was a great way to get a snapshot of the island, food, culture and history and I am glad I did the trip.

Read more
 
9 , 27/11/13

Name

Angela Pugsley

Tour Name

On foot in Northern Cyprus

Tour Code

LNC

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Buffavento & Kantara castles

Tour Leader Name

Engin

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

A good tour leader & felt very looked after from a Veggie point of view.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

We flew with Turkish airlines from Birmingham connecting with the group flight from Istanbul, with a 60 min connection. Security was a bit of a headache in Istanbul, but all worked out very well and would recommend.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

The new idea of the water kitty worked really well. Being able to pop into the supermarket, on occasion from the walks was helpful. Hotel was lovely & the trip to Famagusta was interesting.

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Caroline Spencer

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Final day walking in the Besmark Range

Tour Leader Name

Engin Sha

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Excellent - entertaining - informative - passionate about his country - aware of our safety

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Do need to be reasonably fit - quite a lot of up and down - and it can get hot

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Good variety - learnt much of the history and also about the flora and fauna

 
8 , 15/08/13

Name

Emma

Tour Code

LNC

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Kantara Castle - and just being able to get out & walk! So nice after the winter. I also liked being based in one hotel, without having to bother packing & unpacking the whole time.

Tour Leader Name

Engin

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

"Friendly - very informative when it came to the flowers etc. He also had a lot of information about the area's history & political situation; though as with anyone who's from the area, his views were clearly influenced by his own experiences. Generally good at waiting for slower members of the group, but sometimes forgot that some of them were slow due to the heat etc., rather than due to taking lots of photos. "

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

"You don't need that much in the way of Turkish Lira - sterling is accepted widely. Also, apparently (though I didn't test it out, nor did anyone in the group), you get a better exchange rate in Northern Cyprus than you do in UK (I'd also read that in a couple of other places after I'd changed mine). The hotel, though very nice, is a long way from shops. So, useful to bring sweets/ dried fruit etc, with you, if you like to nibble when walking. "

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

"Great lunches! They might have come from ""my brother, the baker"" but were much better than any hotel packed lunch i've ever had. There was something arranged most evenings for dinner; he'd arranged a set price menu; most people joined, though some did walk into the local village (about 10 mins) & we went into town one night & had dinner/got a cab back (about £5 for the cab) "

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Stephen Back

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The views from Buffavento castle & the final days walk were the highlights. Don't forget the food - Great

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Excellent tour leader - beware of his jokes ! Led the group well ensuring safety at all times. Always ensured we had the option of eating in restaurants in the evenings which specialised in Cypriot food which gave a good culinary experience. We would never have found all the restaurants he took us to had we been on our own.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Be prepared for any weather. It's an island with mountains & can change from cold hail/rain to blazing sunshine almost overnight. Even in May the sea was lovely.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Most memorable moment was being stuck in a massive hail storm in the Besparmak range on Tues ( lasted for over 20 min) & being evacuated out by the minibus. Never seen hailstone rivers before ! Found out the next day a German group were in the same position as us & had to do the same thing. It seems the storm caught everyone out ! Certainly won't forget that in a hurry but was all part of the holiday which helped make it a memorable week.

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Howard

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The last day's walk (and the boat trip!!) (and the concert at Bellapaix monastery)

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

He was great - he looked after everyone very well, told us jokes to keep us going on the walks, restaurants he chose were good.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Take your own tea bags and coffee to the hotel - they charge after you've had 2 cups of tea in the room!!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

"If you want to see flowers then go in March/April: by May most of the flowers have gone and it can be very hot. It's a shame about all of the empty housing and half-built buildings, still a remnant of the Turkish invasion. Read ""Bitter Lemons"" by Lawrence Durrell to get a feel for Bellapaix."

 
8 Ayesha Khwaja, 21/01/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Walking strenuous enough without being too arduous; lovely remote castles; Salamis was atmospheric and much better than expected

Read more
Our Response

There is a compromise to be made between the facilities of the Bellapais hotel and the location of a Kyrenia one.  We have feedback fairly evenly distributed between those who prefer location to facilities, and vice versa.  We have offered both at various times, but on the whole the majority preference seems to be for the Bellapais Monastery.

 
8 Garry Sturley, 14/12/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Visits to remote castles during the daily walks.

Read more
 
5 Ray Baker, 04/10/12

“Not the best trip we've had with Explore. Hotel was changed without our knowledge-from Kyrenia centre to some 45 minutes walk away.Walks generally un-inspiring and fairly short. Many walks on wide broad vehicle tracks which became tedious.”

Read more
Our Response

We are looking again at all the walks to ensure that all are providing the best experience.

We were also unaware of this last minute change and have worked hard with the local agent to try to ensure that this doesn’t happen again.

 
8 Brian, 23/07/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The food and organisation was fine ONCE WE GOT THERE.   But 18 hours of travel, lost and damaqed luggage and 4 days in what l travelled in took the shine off.   but this is not unknown apparently with Turkish Airlines.   A long stopver in Instambul is a special bonus

Read more
Our Response

As mentioned elsewhere on this website, we are always happy to book the flights and timings of our customers’ choosing.  This may be more expensive than the group flights, as we cannot offer the group discount, but customers who book non-group flights through us have the same protection in the event of disruption to air travel (weather, volcanic ash, pilot strikes, etc) as those of our customers on the group flights.

 
9 AG, 20/06/11

It was nice to be always within sight of the pretty coastline as we walked. The hilltop castle looking out towards Syria was lovely. I also really enjoyed the beautiful rocky beach at Kaplica - definitely my highlight of the holiday. Day trips to Famagusta (included in the tour) and Nicosia (on my own steam) provided a good contrast to the walking days. Converted cathedrals and cakes - great! (LNC - 24th April 2011)

 
10 Bernard Wilkes, 18/11/10

Excellent tour, but local prices a little more than expected. Budget well and you will have a great tour (LNC -17th October 2010)

 
9 Susan Rowland, 17/11/10

A week's walking in the mountains in Northern Cyprus.  Highlight was fantastic food & scenery.  Very enjoyable.  Only downfall was I thought the hotel Bellapais Monastry Village was going to be very close to monastary & it was a little away from that - but only minor point. (LNC -10th October 2010)

 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA