It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Quick search

Where would you like to go?
What type of travel do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
568 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Similar, but less expensive:
Have you considered?

Request Brochure

Get your free copy and choose from hundreds of trips in over 100 countries.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new adventures, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

.

 

South Indian Images DS

Visiting: India
Trip Duration 14 Days
 

Reviews for South Indian Images

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the South Indian Images trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

South Indian Images reviews verified by Reevoo

15 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
South Indian ImagesScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 15 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Alison

Fareham
The main tour was fine. However I did a 5 day tailor made extension at the beginning of the tour. The driver was very nice but I did have some issues with communication and the Hotel was too far away from Hampi. There was no time to exchange any money and the first 2 hotels I stayed at didn't have exchange facilities so you definitely need to exchange a small amount of money at the airport on arrival.
There were many highlights on the tour 2 of which I organised myself which included doing the steam train from Coonor to Mattapalyum and an Elephant encounter in Ooty. The night on the houseboat in Kerala backwaters was also very enjoyable.
There was also an issue with transfer arrangements at the end of my holiday but after a couple of e mails to the Uk is was resolved but a worry I could have done without
Confirmed traveller: 08 April 2016
Published on: 03 May 2016
(8 out of 10)

Jacqueline

london
Highlights: Mysore, Kochin, Madurai, Ooty train, and Houseboat.

Be prepared for: at least 3 long drives and a 4 hour drive to Mysore upon arrival. Final hotel is a long way from anything. You have to collect luggage from your first entry port and transfer it to domestic departures - several of us missed the connecting flight to Bangalore and arrived several hours later.

Tips: Take an overnight bag for the House Boat. Enjoy every minute you will see a lot!
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 17 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

John

Horsham
Very interesting and enjoyable, but too much time on the road, probably unavoidably so.

The compulsory tips policy is irritating. Just pay your staff appropriately and charge us appropriately.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 10 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Pamela

Bournemouth
The trip was super - my 1st trip to India. The Indian people are delightful.
We were taken care of beautifully by driving crew, guide and hotel staff and felt valued by all.
Our guide was a gem, ensuring that we experience the best of his country and that any rumples should be ironed out at once. Yes, Lucose's G&T stands up to any competition!
The holtel at MGM beach resort is a lovely hotel, but inappropriate for this holiday. It's location was a compromise between the temples at Mamalapuram and the return flight from Chennai. As such, it was sadly too far away for either purpose.Better to find alternatives closer to both.
Confirmed traveller: 27 February 2016
Published on: 03 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Linda

Bristol
This is a fantastic trip with a good variety of activities and things to see and do. Southern India is a great place and if you haven't been to India before a good place to start. The people are friendly and welcoming and the scenery is varied and interesting. highlights: Kerala backwaters, the temple at Madurai and the fishing nets at Kochi. Having our own bus from start to finish made it so easy and the driver, bus boy and guide were all terrific.
Confirmed traveller: 27 February 2016
Published on: 02 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Linda

Sheffield
This was a brilliant holiday. The highlights were everything! Lukose is a fantastic tour leader, extremely knowledgeable, organised and serves great gin and tonic. South India is the most amazing place and the people are so friendly. The temples and markets are fascinating. Food was delicious everywhere and the cooking demonstration memorable. We had the most incredibly lucky encounter with a Tiger in Bandipur. Beautiful mountains and scenery. We saw all sorts or crops and spices growing. Very green and lush. I have learned so much about India and will never forget this holiday. The only down side was getting visa before going. Expensive, time consuming and frustrating. We turned up at our appointed time in the visa centre in Machester only to find we were in a queue for three hours.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2016
Published on: 28 January 2016
(10 out of 10)

John

Lowestoft
So many highlights! Every day was a new adventure. Along with the advertised highlights having the opportunity to experience the life of the field workers on our route, eating in the local restaurants and using the Indian railway. This was mainly facilitated by our excellent tour leader.
For future travelers taking this holiday my advice is to try everything on offer. It will add up to a truly wonderful Indian experience.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2016
Published on: 05 January 2016
(8 out of 10)

Susan

London
There were so many, but washing (and being washed by!) an elephant in Thekkady was right up there. The Keralan backwaters cruise was very relaxing. The temple in Madurai was stunning. And our guide Rej was excellent. However, I wouldn't recommend doing this trip in November, because it was pretty wet.
Confirmed traveller: 28 November 2015
Published on: 21 December 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

If you are travelling alone don't have any concerns. There were 15 people in our group, some married couples, friends travelling together and single people. It was friendly and inclusive.
Confirmed traveller: 10 January 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015