It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Quick search

Where would you like to go?
What type of travel do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
465 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Request Brochure

Get your free copy and choose from hundreds of trips in over 100 countries.

.

 

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new adventures, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Little Tibet LT

Visiting: India
Tour Duration 16 Days
  • Likir Gompa
  • Views over the Indus Valley
  • Tiksey Gompa, Ladakh
  • Sounding the long horns
  • Golden Temple, Amritsar
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Busy
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
 

Book now!

8 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Little Tibet tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
9 , 06/12/13

Name

Clare

Tour Name

Little Tibet

Tour Code

LT

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The Himalayas were great. Exciting mountain passes. The towns up there are so different to rest of India.

Tour Leader Name

Ranjeet Singh

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Ranjeet was a star. Couldn't work any harder or perform any better.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Be mindful if you travel on a festival tour you may miss it if the monsoon affects your flight. We missed festival but everywhere else made up for it. At least 4 of the group were hit by altitude sickness, you are nearly 6000 metres high!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

This is a beautiful part of India and well worth a visit

 
9 , 06/12/13

Name

Steve

Tour Name

Little Tibet

Tour Code

LT

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Amritsar was busy and exciting. Mountains were awesome.

Tour Leader Name

Ranjeet

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Ranjeet was an experienced professional and gave much more than he had to. An excellent leader who made for an even better (if it could be better) experience.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

If you want to see a festival you may miss it if Delhi weather is bad. We missed Hemis fstival but enjoyed rest of tour so may try and go back for it. Take it easy in mountains; some fellow passengers suffered altitude sickness.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

If you have been around India but not here, then go. It is a beautiful contrast to the usual sites.

 
9 , 16/09/13

Name

David Worsfold

Tour Name

Little Tibet

Tour Code

LT

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

There were too many to mention but they include Leh, the Phyang Festival with its vibrancy and the emotion the local prople show, Alchi monastery with its exquisite wall paintings and wlking around the local area; the 3 day road trip from Leh to Manali over the high passes, the location of Sarchu camp is simply awe inspiring surroended by snow capped mountains; the lush valleys aroung Manali and Mandi; the serenity of the Golden Temple at Amritsar and the pythonesque experience of the border closing ceremony at Wagha.

Tour Leader Name

Ranjeet Singh

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Ranjeet was an excellent tour leader, one of the best of the 20 we have had on our trips. He was passionate about his country and a source of all information about religions, culture, history and social aspects of Indian life. He handled all problems calmly and with a high degree of professionalsim.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Firstly, if you can, go to Delhi a day early. After a long overnight flight there is little time to recover before a 02:30 call for the early flight to Leh. Remain calm and 'go with the flow' - in India things can go wrong ( we have a day in Alchi where all traffic had to be off the roads by 10:00 due to a terrorist incident a day before), realsie that Ladakh is a 'backwater' as far as toursim is concerned and the hotels, while perfectly clean and comfortable, may not run as efficently as else where. Go with an open mind and absorb the myriad of experiences.. scenery, sounds, colours, culture, temples...

 
8 Sherri, 29/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

In the beginning of the trip you visit many gompas ( monastaries) which is a feast for your eyes. Beautiful vibrant colors, statues, flags.... so much to absorb and appreciate.  I truely enjoyed this cultural experience.

Read more
Our Response

Unfortunately the monsoon season is something out of our control; however this should not affect the itinerary of the tour. We do understand that there can be some long drives on this tour, but the sites seen at the end we believe make up for it. 

 
8 Miriam Da-Silva-Curiel, 03/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Leh and surroundings, Alchi with the best accomodation and food, the walks and Hemis festival.The drive south over thefamous passes, the camp in Sarchu with fully equipped tents, the RohtangLa with the one way muddy track, along trucks waiting for days to go north, Manali with its green vegatation, Temples, and monsoon rain. Amritsar as impressive finale.

Read more
 
0 David Evans, 27/10/11
The Hemis Festival was a memorable highlight and I would have liked to have had a second day there at the festival.  The temperature while camping was quite low and perhaps you could stress the need to take extra clothing for this time in the hills.  Another memorable day was the unexpected traffic jam on the high pass but our guide was resourceful on the unexpected extra hike.  I will remember this day! (LT -8th july 2011)
 
0 Kate Cassidy, 21/10/10
Arriving for the first time in India, nothing can prepare you for the sights, smells and senses of India, and that certainly was apparent on our half day tour of Delhi. Even though I have been in Delhi several times, I am always surprised at how vibrant and chaotic the city is. Flying straight up to the altitude of Leh, the capital of Ladakh, delayed slightly by snow melt on the runway, we were straight into what I can only describe as a compelling and fascinating itinerary. Led by our very competent leader, knowledgeable local guide, and our skilled drivers who led us across the Himalayas, including rock slides, road blockages and flooded roads with proficient expertise. Our first stop was the captivating festival at Phyang Gompa, where we watched the monks dressed in vibrant costumes and remarkable masks dancing and playing trumpets and drums. The atmosphere was electric, and I found it spellbinding.  A perfect introduction to this very attractive region. Ladakh if very different to the rest of India, because of the Tibetan culture, it is far calmer and less frantic, and everything seems a lot more relaxed.  The altitude can be hard to deal with in the beginning, but slow down, take it easy and drink loads of water, and the adjustment will be swift. Ladakhi people are captivating and welcoming of newcomers, so take time to get to know them, and you will be welcomed with open arms.  I loved meeting the beautiful children of Alchi who shared my pastries with me, and visiting a local school. The rest of the journey was just as captivating – the scenery was beautiful and varied, especially travelling over the passes that were still covered in snow, and driving down into the valleys so dramatically.  I found visiting McLeod Ganj, the home of the Dalai Lama, a moving experience despite not being able to meet him, but fact that I could view his home (from a distance) was touching. Amritsar is a fascinating city, and the Golden Temple not be missed.  A splendid example of Indian Sikhism, which I also found to be very poignant. This holiday is a not to be missed trip. Congratulations to everyone who put such a compelling itinerary together, and for making this a trip of a lifetime for me. (LT - 7th July 2010)
 
0 Jo Rawlins Gilbert, 21/09/10
The tour was in between rain storms and slides - the Leh-Manali Rd was impassable as I left and two weeks after I returned, impassable again with Leh badly affected by the averse weather. Given that we were lucky as hell, it was a great trip. The gompas and temples were awesome, the scenery glorious,  the people welcoming, the group congenial and the leader knowledgeable. Ladakh plus Dharmasala and Armritsar was a dream trip. But be sure and take warm clothing for that one night tenting out in the mountains as well as altitude meds. (LT- 8th July 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA