It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Quick search

Where would you like to go?
What type of travel do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
465 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Request Brochure

Get your free copy and choose from hundreds of trips in over 100 countries.

.

 

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new adventures, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Indochina Encounter + Good Morning Vietnam! QBV

Tour Duration 20 Days
  • Floating market on the mekong
  • Sunrise at Ha Long Bay
  • Khaosan Road, Bangkok
  • Phnom Penh
  • Hanoi Old Quarter / Vidotour
  • Tour Style: Simply
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Moderate
  • Tour Comfort: Simple
 

Book now!

7 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Indochina Encounter + Good Morning Vietnam! tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Michael Sugars

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The Temples Cambodia Angor & Vietnam, The culture the way of life,the public transport,the Junk over night. The sheer variety,makes it difficult to single out any one highlight! The history both ancient & quite recent,is outstanding.

Tour Leader Name

QBV

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

All 4 excellent,but "Dee"s superb English , knowledge , & humour was a joy,in Vietnam

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

You need to be quite fit. Although not "aerobic" lots of early mornings long overight trains & lack of proper sleep,can take its toll (but worth it )

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

An addition night on the Junk would be most welcome

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Brian Goredema-Braid

Tour Code

QBV

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

So Many!!! Angkor, Siem Reap and Killing Fields in Cambodia, in Vietnam - Ha Long Bay on the Junk, Mekong Delta, Hoi An and Hanoi, Cu Chi Tunnels. But above all it was the people of both countries they are so friendly

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Both tour leaders were excellent. Nak in Cambodia as very informative - especially about Angkor and Battambang. His own personal experiences about Kymer Rouge years was very thought provoking. Diem im in Vietnam also very informative - was very assertive when needed to be escially on night trains

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

"Do not take a big bag and lots of clothes - there are plenty of laundry opportunities along the way - a big bag can be cumbersome on the trains and in some hotels Try all of the local food opportunities - speak to as many local people as possible - they enjoy practicing English with you"

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

I have always wanted to go to Vietnam - I did not know much about Cambodia, but I want to learn more about both countries. Recognising what both countries went through 30 years ago - the people of both countries have moved on without any animosity. They are so friendly - and not just hotel and restaurant staff - everyone you meet is friendly

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Judith Scrivener

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Train & truck ride from Bangkok to Cambodian border. Tonle Sap Lake, Tuk Tuk rides and the Bamboo railway in Batambang. Mekong Delta in Vietnam.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Both Nak (Cambodia) & Vinh (Vietnam) were both excellent. We regarding them as part of our group and they really made our holiday.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Don't skimp on suitable clothing. Invest in some some light weight 'wicking' quick drying tops and shorts from one of the specialist traveling clothing companies. Good walking sandals are a must as is anti bacterial gel for your hands.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

It was like being on a series of a Michael Palin adventure. We are normally independent travellers but this trip has certainly changed our views on travelling in a small groups. It was exactly what we where looking for in an adventure holiday.

 
10 Pete, 25/02/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Angkor Wat and nearby temples, particularly at sunrise

Read more
Our Response

The optional services which we arrange for our customers will not always be the cheapest, but will always meet our criteria in respect of reliability and customer safety.

 
10 Nicholas Speller, 14/12/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

 

Quite a few on this trip including Ankor Wat, the boat trip on Tonje Sap, train trips, Saigon and Hanoi. However the highlight must have been the 24 hrs spent onboard a junk in HaLong Bay.  

 

 

Read more
 
0 Nicola Cowan, 20/02/12
This was one of the best tour's I've done, full of amazing highs but some lows. Because of the Thailand floods we unfortunatly missed Bangkok and flew straight onto Siem Reap giving us an extra day and night there and to be honest the whole group prefered that. Considering the horrific and very recent troubled past Cambodia has endured, it is a country full of the most beautiful people. Warm, friendly, welcoming and genuine. The Temples of Siem Reap, the boat journey to Battenbong and the culture and vibrancy of Phnom Penn were all my highlights there. I wasn't keen on the big cities of Vietnam, too big and busy for me (this is also where we got ripped off in a taxi and money taken from my bag). Hoi An and Halong Bay were both amazing in their own traditional and beautiful ways, I wish we had spent more time there. Much to our surprise Na Trang has an awesom cablecar which will take you over to a mini theme park which was a great change for us as by then we were a bit templed out and the war stories do get to you a bit after a while so the theme park was just a laugh. Amazingly we also went to a midnight beach party Ibiza style - very surreal!! I suppose I was most worried about all the public transport but it was fine. Good buses with comfort breaks and we always had reserved seats at the front. The crossing of the boarder between Cambodia and Vietnam was absolutly fine, much better than expected and alot quicker. I was worried that it was unescorted but the bus company had an English speaking guide on board to help us. The trains in Vietnam were again much better than expected, 4 berth sleeper coaches. We did have an unfortunate one off incident which meant hard seats for one of the overnight journeys but it was due to an accident on the line and couldn't be helped. All in all the best way to see 2 very different countries, if you can afford the 3 weeks it takes....do it !!!
 
0 Jill Hanlon, 21/09/10
This trip was especially exciting because it was history in our time. Our tour leader in Cambodia was a child during the Kmer Rouge regime, so was able to relate first-hand experiences. This is a very young country, as so much of the population was massacred, but it exudes positive and warm hopes for the future. The whole tour had so much variety: spectacular sites, such as Angkor Wat; local villages built on stilts; a great river trip through the deep countryside in Cambodia; beautiful scenery in Ha Long Bay, Vietnam; the lovely old town of Hoi An; an exciting motorbike ride through the countryside around Hue; I could go on forever! The people are lovely, the food is delicious and the markets are great fun, bargaining for souvenirs. We were lucky enough to visit during the Chinese New Year celebrations: and they certainly know how to celebrate! Saigon particularly was amazing. Everywhere was ablaze with lights, a most fantastic flower display had been set up, paper lanterns, orange trees, red and gold decorations abounded. And that was all in addition to the four million motorbikes in the city! If you do this tour, make sure you have enough memory cards for your camera - you'll need them! (QBV- 9th February 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA