It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Quick search

Where would you like to go?
What type of travel do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
574 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Request Brochure

Get your free copy and choose from hundreds of trips in over 100 countries.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new adventures, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

.

 

Highlights of Sri Lanka SLH

Visiting: Sri Lanka
Tour Duration 7 Days
 

Reviews for Highlights of Sri Lanka

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Highlights of Sri Lanka tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Highlights of Sri Lanka reviews verified by Reevoo

8 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Highlights of Sri LankaScores 7.3 out of 10 based on 8 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Jeremy

Southampton
Excellent choice of sites and activities. As Explore holidays go, the hotels are really good. A good experienced guide and the Sri Lankans are the most friendly of people, highly recommend this tour.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 18 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Emma

Leeds
The tour guide was fantastic. He worked hard to make sure everyone had a great time. Very kind and caring leader.
Confirmed traveller: 27 March 2016
Published on: 30 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

K

London
Not much free time
Perhaps add one more day as would have been nice to have a bit more time in galle
One day was available but taken up with whale watching tour
Excellent guide and driver
Great trip overall
Confirmed traveller: 27 March 2016
Published on: 29 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Christian

An excellent itinerary combining wildlife, historical sites & culture.
Confirmed traveller: 13 March 2016
Published on: 14 March 2016
(6 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This trip is extremely poor value for money given the shocking accommodation. Surely there are better hotels in Sri Lanka. I felt like I was on a tourist conveyor belt with the goal being to have me leave as much money as possible behind. And it was tedious and tiring being in the same hotels as much larger groups. It all added to the feeling of drive-by tourism. Perhaps it's the style in Sri Lanka but a company like Explore could make it more interesting, especially given the cost. Oh, remove the spice tour... What a waste of time.
Confirmed traveller: 13 March 2016
Published on: 14 March 2016
(3 out of 10)

Heena

Seattle, WA
I've traveled in Sri Lanka on my own for a couple days before meeting up with the Explore tour, the accommodations used for this tour were sub-par in terms of service provided and the cleanliness of the hotels. I've stayed at hotels that cost $25/night USD that were cleaner, friendlier and provided better food. Our tour guide was nice and friendly but he needs additional training. He often wouldn't listen to questions asked by others on the tour and have a pre-canned answer ready that had nothing to do with the question asked. I had heard of the amazing Sri Lankan food but we never once had authentic Sri Lankan food - Sarath would always take us to westernized restaurants saying tourists don't like local food. I often ventured out and discovered the local cuisine on my own. I've taken several trips with Explore over the last 8 years, I've always had an amazing experience. This trip was expensive and missed the mark completely. I don't know if it's a policy change on the types of hotels chosen for Explore trips and the resistance to show local culture and food. I'm glad I'm staying in Sri Lanka for an additional 2 weeks so I can get a feel for the culture, food and people.
Confirmed traveller: 14 February 2016
Published on: 29 February 2016

We’re sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the accommodation provided and the dining venues offered during the trip. We have passed your feedback on to our local agent in regards to the accommodation, to address the issues around cleanliness and service with the hotels directly– or to see if there are any alternative options.

Although we do try to make sure that our customers try the local cuisine and eat in as many local restaurants as possible, unfortunately there are limited options in Sri Lanka, as there isn’t a significant culture of eating out. We have reminded Sarath that he should be taking the group to local restaurants where possible though.

(8 out of 10)

Deborah

Toronto
Booking through explore was easy and the staff were great. I needed to book a tour last minute after other plans fell through and they made it easy!
Confirmed traveller: 16 August 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015