It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Quick search

Where would you like to go?
What type of travel do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
573 Matching trips
Site Search

Request Brochure

Get your free copy and choose from hundreds of trips in over 100 countries.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new adventures, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Read reviews

.

 

Journey Through The Balkans YD

Tour Duration 12 Days
 
Reviews for Journey Through The Balkans

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Journey Through The Balkans tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Journey Through The Balkans reviews verified by Reevoo

19 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Journey Through The BalkansScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 19 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Margery

Atlanta, Georgia
The highlights were seeing the country side of Montenegro, Sarajevo and Dubrovnik.
Confirmed traveller: 07 October 2015
Published on: 20 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Be prepared for all four seasons, food is excellent meat dishes rather large. Wine is excellent and so too the beer, drink the local beer, avoid 'International Blands'. Look out for the Dark Beer 'Tamno'.
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

All of it was good. Maybe the highlight was Sarajevo. Also saw some wonderful scenery. The countries we visited were very interesting. Would recommend this tour. Would have liked it to be longer.Excellent guide. very informative, very helpful, very sociable. V. good communication and people skills. Also the drivers, Igor and Marco, were very competent and safe, friendly and helpful.
Confirmed traveller: 28 July 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

A busy but well organised schedule, with a great blend of natural and cultural highlights. Sarajevo was fascinating, particularly to understand the recent history. Danijela was excellent. She tuned into the characteristics of the group very well and ensured everyone felt their needs were met. She was knowledgeable, enthusiastic and had some very good recommendations of things to do when we went off on our own. She was great on the restaurants too. Our drivers, Marco and Igor were also excellent - very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
Confirmed traveller: 17 August 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Kathleen

Vancouver, Canada
Since we were unlucky enough to have rather poor weather when in the mountains, my highlights were city based, where weather was not so critical. Sarajevo, Mostar, Dubrovnik were all interesting and gave a chance to glean information about the troubles in the region, and look into the past history of the countries. This is a very interesting region where Europe meets Asia culturally, and I found that fascinating and saddening - - they are clearly still suffering from the aftermath of civil wars and current ethnic divisiveness.
Confirmed traveller: 07 October 2015
Published on: 22 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Ann

Newcastle, Australia
The scenery was just beautiful and at times very dramatic. This is not an action packed trip but then the brochure did not portray this. Our guide was wonderful, looking after all our needs and more, and very informative. It was also rewarding to be able to support some of these places in a small way that desperately need monetary help, and tourism. The only complaint I had was the fact that day 1 of the trip started at nearly midnight (hardly day 1) and on the last day of the trip I only saw my roommate, (at 7am departure) so really the trip had ended the night before. I feel this is false advertising, and should be changed in your advertising and brochure.
Confirmed traveller: 16 September 2015
Published on: 20 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Tonbridge
Sarajevo was a highlight and it was good to have time to explore (and stay in one place for two nights). A decent city map would have been good but getting lost meant we talked to quite a few locals. Travelling through Bosnia Herzegovina and Croatia brought home the effects of the latest conflicts.
We stayed in such a variety of places. Staying in the Open Air Museum, Staro Selo in Western Serbia was lovely. It was a unique location and a great way to experience traditional Serbian life and food.
The opportunities for so many different experiences: swimming in the Adriatic, a boat trip from Kotor, another very wet boat trip on Lake Skadar (!) a ride on the Sargan narrow gauge railway, staying at a former film set (weird).
The countryside was so varied and each place so interesting. I learned a lot about the region. The people were friendly and welcoming and there is no feeling of being ripped off as a tourist as there are in some more developed places.
Although I enjoyed the less touristy atmosphere of Trebinje after Mostar more time in Dubrovnik might have been good - although I can always go back there for a short break. I was glad that we booked a late flight out of Dubrovnik as it gave us the chance to spend a restful day in the beautiful resort of Cavtat before going home.

For someone going on this trip - make sure you have comfortable shoes (these Balkan countries have not heard of disabled access yet!), there are a lot of uneven surfaces. Walking poles might be helpful.

All in all, a wonderful trip. Definitely a 'taster', an incentive to return to all these countries.
Confirmed traveller: 30 September 2015
Published on: 18 October 2015